Dad lying cold and still in his coffin for three days at my sister Fiona’s home. Fiona wanted dad to “lie in state” in a Maori way (indigenous New Zealanders). Dad would have found this funny. It was quite confronting to have dad lying there in Fiona’s sitting room for three days. Doesn’t help with eating the toast in the morning.

Dad’s parents head stone at Papakura Cemetery, South Auckland, New Zealand. “The Lord is My Shepherd”. Psalm 23.

My father. Born and raised on a farm. My father’s sisters Grace (left) and Dorothy with dad. Gracie so cute. Dorothy snuggling into dad. Dad standing straight and sure. Already a leader. Dorothy and dad have died.

New Zealand relatives in 1959: From left Grandad Jim Elley, my mother Valerie, Jim Elley dad’s brother, Georgina my maternal grandma, my dad and little me. My teddy, which I still have, lies resting on it’s face on the ¬†floor.

The writer of this blog-site Donald Elley of Bellingen- reflecting on his life and the lives of others this morning.

My friend Trevor Tree of Bellingen who died a few weeks ago aged 57 while surfing. Had a heart attack. I’ve lost two friends to heart attacks. Peter Radford, a Sydney friend, aged 53 in 2004 and now Trevor. Both were Christians.

My youngest of five boys- Reuben aged 3 (on right) and Raphael aged 2. Reuben was named in memory of my father who died two years before he was born in 2012

Michelle my wife at our wedding in 2012