phil pringle 2

 

The first time I met “Doctor Phil” Pringle was in 1982.

I was a builder working at Christian Life Centre Darlinghurst. CLC Darlo for short. This was the second location and second name for Hillsong mega-church.

The lifelong secret pedophile and child rapist “Pastor” Frank Houston the founder of  Hillsong mega-church was showing Phil Pringle my handiwork. This is before he acquired his doctorate from an unknown Theological college overseas in the early 1990s and announced to his C3 staff and the world, “Call me Dr Phil Pringle from now on”.

I still remember the day very clearly when I first met Phil.

The party of pastors arrived with a young Phil Pringle boasting to his spiritual father, the lifelong secret pedophile and child rapist “Pastor” Frank Houston the founder of Hillsong Global Church about his “amazing” vision for the lost of Sydney and how he was going to build a mighty church in Sydney’s Northern Beaches with a massive Bible College etc etc.

I was watching and listening and thought “this guy is full of himself”.

 

"Doctor Phil". Preaches the nothing half-truth gospel. Captured by outward appearance and "being cool".

“Doctor Phil” Pringle. Never lost for words, spin and bravado.

 

Success for Doctor Phil

“Doctor Phil” Pringle was called plain old “Pastor Phil” in those days.

Plain old “Pastor Phil” was boasting his head off but everything he boasted about has come to pass. A kind of Donald Trump of Australian Pentecostal Christianity.

 

My friend Donald

Rev Frank Houston, who’d been secretly raping little boys and young male teens for over forty years, said to Phil Pringle, “This is my good friend Donald. He’s built all you can see”.

I glowed inside with pride and was thankful The Great Frank Houston regarded me as “a friend”.

I realised seven years later in 1990 that Frank Houston was a rotten and corrupt but I didn’t understand what he’d done and how bad he was until the past five years since I started writing about Hillsong and the Houstons.

 

Collaroy C3

My second view of “Doctor Phil” Pringle was at a warehouse in the beachside suburb of Collaroy on Sydney’s Northern Beaches in 1984. I visited there to see what was going on. I’d heard this church in a warehouse was going well.

The church was busy and pumping with several hundred people attending.

 

 

C3 in Brookvale

C3 then moved in the 1980s to a larger warehouse in an Industrial Estate in Brookvale. I went there a few times.

I remember a Howard-Brown crusade there in the early 1990s where people were laughing out loud even when he preached, making animal noises like chooks and dogs barking and weird body movements.

I thought “Yucko. This isn’t the Holy Spirit. More demons manifesting and weird expressions of human flesh”.

I was right.

 

phil pringle b2

 

To be continued…