NEBUCHADNEZZAR EATING GRASS by Australian painter Arthur Boyd

August 3, 2023

I predicted a decade ago that Brian Houston, the Houstons and Hillsong would fall one day, just as fast as they rose.

In September 2012, I set out to take down Brian Houston. Who I know personally.

Brian and I were young men at early Hillsong in 1980.

I wrote the following article last year, before Brian’s court case in December 2022.

I am a Hillsong Insider

I am a Hillsong Insider. They say that organisations most fear Insiders. Those who have been on the inside and know so much.

Not bitter

In 2012 when I started writing on this, my personal blog-site, against the Houstons, Hillsong and corrupt AOG, Charismatic and Pentecostal pastors worldwide, a reader commented, “I like your site. You are a good and articulate writer. You are the most intelligent Christian writer on the Pentecostals. You are not bitter like most Insiders who leave churches…”

I have a philosophy degree. So I have studied many great writers and great thinkers. I haven’t met anyone who has my exact skillset. I don’t know how many great Christian writers there are out there.

When I came to Hillsong in 1980, no one there knew who I was and my training and background. I didn’t tell anyone of my education and skillset. I don’t know why. I think it was because of my Scottish upbringing. We were taught to be humble.

“Pastor” Robert Fergusson. Robert is Hillsong’s lauded greatest theologian

One thing I knew was that I had the wood on everyone at Hillsong intellectually. Including so-called “Pastor” Robert Fergusson. Robert is Hillsong’s lauded great theologian. In fact, Robert is a biology teacher from England with no theological training. Robert Fergusson parades about as a great theologian and great intellect but he has no training and little insight. Robert Fergusson talks down to everyone at Hillsong and they’re all fooled. With his English accent and pomposity.

All these clowns and clones at Hillsong have no love of the truth

The thing is, all these clowns and clones at Hillsong have no love of the truth. And it’s the same with their pastor pals. Take Brian’s close friend Paul de Jong for example. Or Phil Pringle. All dunces with no intellectual or theological training.

Brian Houston and his wife Bobbie Houston are really dumb

Brian Houston and his wife Bobbie Houston are really dumb. I didn’t figure this out recently. I’ve known it for over forty years. Since I first met them in 1980. I could share countless stories.

By his own account, Brian didn’t listen at school.

While I was at the elite Khandallah Primary School and later Onslow College, high on the hills above Wellington Harbour amongst the elite, being taught the core subjects of English, Mathematics, Science, Geography and History plus Latin and French, Brian was down on the flats in working class Lower Hutt, by his own admission, not listening, looking out the classroom window and watching the seagulls, and aircraft flying north and north west to Australia, Asia, Africa, America and beyond to Europe.

All Brian wanted was to be like his dad Frank and fly all over the planet “preaching the glorious gospel” as Frank heralded it. Funny a lifelong secret pedophile knowing the Bible so well and preaching all that stuff. Wellington is New Zealand’s capital, where Brian and I were raised.

I wish I hadn’t wasted two decades at Hillsong

I wish I hadn’t wasted two decades at Hillsong.

I arrived there in Darlinghurst, Sydney in 1980. I left for good in 2000.

I wasn’t kicked out. I left on my own terms.

In 2000, when Brian stood before the assembled at the city church in Waterloo, Sydney, not far south of the CBD, and said about all the changes he was going to make there, I knew what was coming. I knew Brian would scare the Holy Spirit out the door within weeks. Geoff Beecham and others had tried to keep the Holy Spirit in Hillsong, despite everything. So many side stories here.

I can see that I was at Hillsong for a grand purpose

Yet I can see that I was at Hillsong for a grand purpose. To expose the Houstons, Brian and Frank, and to give a reliable, unbiased account of it all.

I hesitate to write this, because Josephus was such a great and brave man. As a captured Jew he recorded the valuable history of the Romans from 70AD during the Jewish Wars. These were the many uprisings in Israel at the time. One can read about all these things in Flavius Josephus’ long chronicles, ‘The Wars of the Jews’.

Hillsong is hardly the Roman Empire and I am not worthy to stand in Josephus’ shoes but people like me are valuable in the history of mankind. What about the survivors of great battles and great historical events throughout history who wrote their stories and accounts.

Pastor Brian thinks he is innocent of concealing a pedophile

Pastor Brian thinks he is innocent of concealing a pedophile. He really does. If you know Brian like I do you’d understand why.

Brian Houston will be very scared at the moment. The public humiliation of going to court so openly and publicly before the whole world. I’m not sure how extensive the media coverage will be in terms of boots on the ground and media chaos outside the court. But for sure Pastor Brian going to court will be covered in media all over the planet.

The reason is that Pastor Brian built himself up so high and loved the media presence that he became very well-known internationally. World media and the peoples of this planet love to watch celebrities go down. Especially preachers. Take Jimmy Swaggart for example. You may not have heard of Pastor Jimmy Swaggart. I’e published articles on him on this site. Google his name” “Jimmy Swaggart confession to sex with prostitutes”. Same as Brian’s close friend “Pastor” Pat Mesiti.

Whether Brian is innocent or guilty will be decided in the first instance by a single Magistrate

Whether Brian is innocent or guilty will be decided in the first instance by a single Magistrate. This is how it works in Australia.

A matter like protecting a pedophile starts off in a lower court. In Brian’s case in a Local Court. Because Brian’s matter is of public importance and high profile, he has been designated by the Public Prosecution to appear at the iconic and historic Downing Street Local Court in Sydneys CBD.

Three weeks have been scheduled starting next Monday, December 5, 2022.

Ironically Brian is appearing not far from Darlinghurst where he became a pastor

Ironically Brian is appearing in court on criminal charges not far from Darlinghurst where he became a pastor. Downing Street Court is a large building on the corners of Elizabeth, Castlereagh and Liverpool Streets in Sydney CBD.

Walk two blocks east from Downing Street Court along Liverpool Street onto Oxford Street and towards Bondi Beach and there is the location of early Hillsong on the corner of Goulburn and Riley Streets, just off Oxford Street.

The church was located in an old three storey building on this site before its demolition. It was there from 1980 to 1990. Then it moved to Waterloo, not far south on the way to Sydney International Airport.

Brian sacked his father Frank in 1999 when he confessed to being a lifelong secret pedophile

Brians dad, Pastor Frank was the lead pastor of Hillsong from 1977 to 1999. Brian sacked his father in 1999 when Frank confessed to being a lifelong secret pedophile.

It comes down to just one Magistrate to decide whether Brian is innocent or guilty in the first instance

So it comes down to just one Magistrate to decide whether Brian is innocent or guilty. I hope the Magistrate is astute and smart and sees straight through Brian and his cons.

Appeals will follow if Pastor Brian is found guilty

Appeals will follow if Pastor Brian is found guilty. There are three layers of appellate courts in New South Wales. The highest court is in the capital Canberra.

My prediction is that Pastor Brian will be found guilty at Downing Street Local Court and appeals will follow taking many years

My prediction is that Pastor Brian will be found guilty at Downing Street Local Court and appeals will follow taking many years. Possibly 4-5 years.

Australian Cardinal George Pell

Whether Pastor Brian will get off on a technicality like Australian Cardinal George Pell remains to be seen. From the evidence I’ve seen, including the excellent three part ‘Revelation’ series on ABC, Australia’s quasi-independent national media, George Pell is guilty of pedophile protection. There were a lot of victims saying that George Pell raped them as boys. Quite a player was George in the dark arts of pedophile protection and pedophilia. George certainly helped a lot of Catholic priests escape detection and prosecution for child rape. Now George is hiding out in the Vatican and maintaining a low profile. But he did spend some years in the clink. Many Catholics think George is innocent. It’s the same with Pastor Brian. A messy and convoluted story.

Pastor Brian is finished for sure. Despite Brian’s bravado he’ll never recover

Pastor Brian is finished for sure. Despite Brian’s bravado he’ll never recover. Pastor Brian is a self-confessed alcoholic and pill addict, a full-blown narcissist, a pathological liar and an adulterer. Pastor Brian is not wanted by his own church which he grew after getting rid of his father to be a global megachurch.

Like Nebuchadnezzar of old, Pastor Brian is destined “to eat grass”

Like Nebuchadnezzar of old, Pastor Brian is destined “to eat grass”

The writing was on the wall about Pastor Brian and his fate long ago. Like Nebuchadnezzar, Pastor Brian is destined “to eat grass”. There’s an interesting Bible story.

NEBUCHADNEZZAR EATING GRASS by Australian painter Arthur Boyd

ARTHUR BOYD

(1920 – 1999)

NEBUCHADNEZZAR EATING GRASS, 1972